La Quinta High School

According to US News & World Report: LQ is the #2 public high school in OC & ranked #54 in the state. Congratulations, Aztecs !                     

Athletics Home

Welcome to La Quinta High School Athletics!

The Mission of La Quinta Athletics is to pursue "Victory with Honor" 

We are very proud of the tradition at La Quinta. The Aztecs have produced many CIF Championships and League Championships. Many Aztec athletes have earned athletic scholarships to colleges and universities. But most importantly, we pursue Victory with Honor by promoting the Six Pillars of Character: trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, and citizenship through our education-based athletic programs.
  
Check the Athletic Clearance tab on the right to see the requirements of all student-athletes to compete at La Quinta.
 
2020-2021 SPORTS SEASONS CHANGED DUE TO COVID 19 PANDEMIC
 
ALL SPORTS TRYOUTS WILL BE HELD, WHEN SAFE, DURING THE SCHOOL YEAR
 
FALL SPORTS   (December 2020 - March 2021
Cross Country
Football
Traditional Competitive Cheer
Boys and Girls Volleyball
Boys and Girls Waterpolo
 
SPRING SPORTS   (March 2021 - June 2021)
Baseball
Boys and Girls Basketball
Competitive Sports Cheer 
Softball
Boys and Girls Soccer
Boys and Girls Swimming
Boys and Girls Tennis
Boys and Girls Track and Field
 
If you have any questions about a specific sport, email the head coach.  The head coaches emails are listed below.
 
*Our coaches update their own web page, sports with web page links are underlined
 

 

FALL SPORTS


Sport

Head Coach

E-mail

Schedule

Football

James Stewart

jstewart@ggusd.us

 

Click here

Girls Tennis

Brian Alcaraz

balcaraz@ggusd.us

Click here

Girls Volleyball

David Tran

dtran15@hotmail.com

Click here

Boys Waterpolo

John Vu / Matt Henry

mhenry@ggusd.us

Click here

Cross Country

Mike Conlay

mconlay@ggusd.us

Click here

 

WINTER SPORTS

 

Sport

Head Coach

E-mail

Schedule

Boys Soccer

Brian Ortiz

 

Click here

Girls Soccer

Brian Alcaraz

balcaraz@ggusd.us

Click here

Girls Waterpolo

John Vu

johnvu@gmail.com

Click here

Boys Basketball

Mark Sanchez

 

Click here

Girls Basketball

Daryl Funai

wonderbozs@aol.com

Click here

 

SPRING SPORTS

 

Sport

Head Coach

E-mail

Schedule

Baseball

Brian Dawson

bldawson74@yahoo.com

Click here

Softball

Jeff Nadeau

jnadeau@ggusd.us

Click here

Track

Steven Navarro

snavarro1@ggusd.us

Click here

Swimming

Jason Mills

jmills@ggusd.us

Click here

Boys Volleyball

David Tran

dtran15@hotmail.com

Click here

Boys Tennis

Bryan Tran

btran@ggusd.us

Click here

Competitive Cheer

Monica Bui

mbui1@ggusd.us

Click here

 

 
Athletic Directors
David Austin:   Basketball, Competitive Cheer, Swimming, Tennis, Volleyball, Water Polo
Email:   daustin@ggusd.us
 
Dave Garland:  Baseball, Cross Country, Football, Soccer, Softball, and Track and Field
 
Athletic Secretary
Carolyn Nichols
Phone/FAX: (714) 663-6045